Christy Moore | Magic Nights Agrandir l'image

Christy Moore | Magic Nights


Christy Moore : auteur, compositeur et interprète irlandais

Double CD - 26 chansons

Plus de détails

16,67 € TTC

En savoir plus

Dans ce nouvel album, Christy Moore propose une sélection de 26 de ses meilleures chansons récemment enregistrées en live. 

We are about to release a new album of songs for your consideration. It contains 26 new live recordings gathered under the title of “Magic Nights”.

The opening track is “Magic Nights in The Lobby Bar”. A version of John Spillane/Ger Wolf’s classic song recorded at The Opera House, Cork in 2014.

We have recorded all our gigs in recent years. Producer Jimmy Higgins and Sound Engineer David Meade selected these takes from hundreds of gigs.
It has been an enjoyable process. Listening back and discovering special moments, riffs that went unnoticed, choruses long forgotten.

Every gig develops its own atmosphere, every audience being a unique gathering of listeners.

In Belfast we dedicated “Burning Times” to Lyra McKee, her Young Life so cruelly ended on The Creggan.

In Glasgow I responded to a call-out for Spancilhiil and what followed was, for me, a very special version of young Michael Considine’s beautiful song.

When we played Dreamland in Athy I sang Johnny Cash’s version of “Hurt”. I was 18 when I heard him sing in that very same Dancehall. A night I have never forgotten. (Albert Reynolds was on the door!)

In Vicar St, Dublin a voice called out for “Johnny Jump Up”. The Band had not played it before but I dived in and they followed. I cherish such spontaneous moments.

In recent months I have happened upon Sean Mone’s “Rosalita & Jack Cambell”, Pete St John’s “Inchicore Wake, Rob Corcoran’s “Ringing that Bell” and Albert Niland’s “Irish Pagan Ritual” (aka “Sail on Jimmy”) Each one taking its place in the set and gathering momentum along the way.

Its 50 years this year since I released my first album.

I have deep gratitude for the mystery of it all. At work I’m surrounded by a great team of comrades. Their talents and vital contributions keep the show on the road.

Each night at 8.05 we stand side stage, breathe in the air of expectancy, the intoxicating waft of perfume and after shave. The crew complete their final checks, the lights go down and out we go once more to face the Music.

Thank You for listening, One and All,


Sony Music - Columbia, Novembre 2019

CD 1

  1. Magic Nights In The Lobby Bar
  2. Matty
  3. Sonny's Dream
  4. Ringing That Bell
  5. A Pair Of Brown Eyes
  6. Sail On Jimmy (aka Irish Pagan Ritual)
  7. Burning Times
  8. The Tuam Beat
  9. Back Home In Derry
  10. Rosalita And Jack Campbell
  11. Duffy's Cut
  12. Motherland
  13. Spancilhill

CD 2

  1. Before The Deluge
  2. The Two Conneeleys
  3. Missing You
  4. Cry like a Man
  5. The Reel In The Flickering Light
  6. Veronica
  7. Johnny Jump Up
  8. Inchicore Wake
  9. Tippin' It Up To Nancy
  10. Only Our Rivers Run Free
  11. Hurt
  12. The Well Below The Valley
  13. Mandolin Mountain
Réalisation Dream me up