Bagpipe Tutors

Collection (3 books) of Bagpipe Tutors by Robert Wallace
Méthode de cornemuse écossaise (en anglais) par Robert Wallace en 3 volumes 

Plus de détails

14,22 € TTC

Fiche technique


En savoir plus

Bapgipe Tutor 1

  • Bagpiping for beginners
  • Elementary exercices & tunes
  • Free videos & audio files

A concise yet comprehensive piping tutor book which takes the complete beginner through all the instruction and movements necessary to become a top class piper. Each of the 20 lessons concentrates on a different aspect of bagpipe fingeringwork, with exercises designed to improve dexterity and to develop technique, with suggested metronome timings for their practice. The first tune we learn is Amazing Grace, the well-known hymn. Some students may be able to play the tune accurately after only a few week diligent study of this manual. Each lesson has either a sound or video file to accompany it – so you can actually see or hear how to make the movements, not just read about them. These are available free here.

Bagpipe Tutor 2

  • Bagpiping second tier study
  • Intermediate exercices & tunes
  • Free audio files

This book is the natural follow-on from Bagpipe Tutor Book 1. It takes the learner through his or her first 6/8 march, strathspey, reel, hornpipe and jig. It offers advice on blowing, posture and tuning (video lesson accompaniment), and ends with the piper’s first ‘competition’ March, Strathspey and Reel. Nineteen of the 20 lessons have a free audio file which further explain what is being taught by renowned bagpipe educator and author, Robert Wallace. Audio & video files are accessed here

Bagpipe Tutor 3 - Piobaireachd

  • Ceol Mor for beginners
  • All the required technique
  • Free audio & video

The best way to learn piobaireachd (pronounced ‘pee-broch’) the classical music of the bagpipe. ‘Bagpipe Tutor 3 – Piobaireachd’ is by PP Editor Robert Wallace and follows in sequence from his successful Bagpipe Tutor Books 1 & 2. The book is lie-flat, wire bound.

Like them, the piobaireachd tutor makes full use of multimedia to fully illustrate each lesson. This is accessible here

The book consists of 20 concise yet comprehensive lessons, and on completion the student will know all the technique needed for the successful delivery of this music – and four complete tunes: The Wee Spree, Clan Campbell’s Gathering, The Boat Tune and Duncan MacRae of Kintail’s Lament.

The book is structured in such a way that each piece of new technique is incorporated in the tune that follows, thus putting the movement, be it a throw to E or F, or perhaps the crunluath, into its relevant musical context.

There is also a short introduction to canntaireachd (mouth music), plus information on tune construction, pentatonic scales and piping history.

Editions Piping Press (2015 & 2016)


Réalisation Dream me up